Toyota winner, summary and standings

Toyota wins the 90th edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Find the complete summary of the race and the general classification.

The 90th edition didn’t wait to step up. From the outset, United Autosports No. 22 went off the road after being crushed in the group. LMP2 # 31 of the WRT team is sanctioned with a stop & go for causing the collision of the first lap in the Dunlop corner.

But this first lap crash gave false hope to a race that was looking intense at the time! Starting in the lead, the two Toyotas quickly widened the gap over the rest of the group and in the Hypercar category. Author of an average start, the Alpino found himself in difficulty behind the two Glickenhaus.

After 2h30 of testing, the race has more than 2,700 passes. But the show is quite different, becoming soporific at times. In this phase, only the battles between Alpine and the two Glickenhaus or those between LMP2 animate the event.

Renowned for its reliability, the Alpine A480 is unrecognizable. The # 36 crew car is plagued with mechanical problems and wastes precious time stuck in its pit. After 6 hours of racing, the Italian prototype is only 27th in the general classification and is more than 4 laps behind the Toyota.

The sunset seemed to be the breaking point of tranquility for the pilots. The Glickenhaus no. 708 (Hypercar) and the Corvette no. 63 (GTE Pro) had suspension problems. While the famous actor Michael Fassbender discovered the reality of night racing on the streets of the Sarthe during the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Meanwhile, Toyota is not content with just crossing the finish line and taking another win. The two Japanese crews run towards a demonstration to crush the competition and bring the two prototypes back to the first two places of the finish.

Unfortunately, the Alpino was unable to catch up during the night. Conversely, the Signatech crew led by Philippe Sinault continued to crumble due to mechanical problems. Early in the morning, the crew of Negrao, Lapierre and Vaxivière were in 18th place, 11 laps behind the Toyotas.

But the ordeal doesn’t stop there. Matthieu Vaxivière tries to overtake a laggard, but goes too wide in the Porsche Esses trajectory and ends up losing grip on the rubber balls. The A480 was heavily hit but still managed to get back on track. The goal now is to cover 70% of Toyota’s distance to score points for the championship.

Fatigue reaches even the best. Toyota GR010 # 8 also has a mechanical problem. The hybrid system appears to be questioned. After a long stint in the pits, José-Maria Lopez starts again but with the concern of seeing him give up his car at the end of the race, like the 6 hours of Spa-Francorchamps.

The shocking picture of the morning goes to the Corvette (GTE Pro). Car # 64 collides at high speed with # 83 Oreca (LMP2). After taking pole and dominating much of the race, the American GT ended her adventure on the wall.

With 4 hours left of the race, Robin Frijns (Oreca # 31 LMP2) made a mistake and caused the first neutralization of the race for about 30 minutes. The Dutchman finally decides to surrender. The damage is too great on his prototype. Following the intervention of the safety car, the gap between Ferrari # 51 and Porsche # 91 has been significantly reduced. The race is relaunched in the GTE Pro category.

Logically, the two Toyotas (# 8 ahead of # 7) far outnumber the rest of the pack. The surprise goes to Glickenhaus # 709 which manages to conquer the first podium of the brand on the Sarthe circuit. The American crew benefited greatly from the misadventures of the Alpine, which finished in 23rd place overall.

Classification :


  1. # 8 – Toyota GR010 – Buemi, Hartley, Hirakawa (380 laps)
  2. # 7 – Toyota GR010 – Conway, Kobayashi, Lopez (+ 2’01 “)
  3. # 709 – Glickenhaus 007 – Briscoe, Westbrook, Mailleux (+ 5 laps)
  4. # 708 – Glickenhaus 007 – Pla, Dumas, Derani (+10 laps)
  5. # 36 – Alpine A480 – Negrão, Lapierre, Vaxiviere (+18 laps)


  1. # 38 – Oreca 07 Jota – Gonzalez, Felix da Costa, Stevens (369 laps)
  2. # 9 – Oreca 07 Prema Orlen Team – Kubica, Deletraz, Colombo (+ 2’21 “)
  3. # 28 – Oreca 07 TDS Racing X Vaillante – de Vries, Beche, van Der Helm (+ 1 lap ‘)


  1. # 91 – Porsche 911 RSR – Bruni, Lietz, Makowiecki (350 laps)
  2. # 51 – Ferrari 488 GTE AF Corse – Pier Guidi, Calado, Serra (+42 “)
  3. # 52 – Ferrari 488 GTE AF Corse – Molina, Fuoco, Rigon (+ 1 lap)


  1. # 33 – Aston Martin Vantage TF Sport – Keating, Chaves, Sorensen (343 laps)
  2. # 79 – Porsche 911 RSR Weathertech – MacNeil, Andlauer, Merrill (+44 “)
  3. # 98 – Aston Martin Vantage Northwest AMR – Dalla Lana, Pittard, Thiim (+ 1 lap)

Follow the 90th edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans live on our live text:

24h of Le Mans 2022: live race + TV program

Photo: Icon Sport

To read on

First view of the Ferrari LMH for Le Mans 2023

Formula 1: Verstappen and Red Bull win the Azerbaijan GP

Azerbaijan F1 GP 2022: the reactions of the drivers

Leave a Comment